Recovering in Hong Kong

Was supposed to check out of the Ramada this morning and into the Ah Shan Dragon Inn Hostel, but instead we’ve decided to stay for another 2 nights, so I could recuperate. Yesterday evening I came down with horrible diarrhea, violent chills and a fever of up to 104 F despite popping Tylenol after Tylenol. It was pretty scary, had phoned my travel insurance and was about to head to a hospital because I was paranoid that it could be malaria.  Nolan came down with something similar a few days ago in Dazhai and had recovered overnight, so more than likely it was the same thing. Feeling better now, though not at 100% yet, so I suspect it’s just traveller’s diarrhea, or maybe even dengue fever or something contracted from a bug bite.

I was just thinking – only hours earlier I had crossed over the border, where they screen everyone’s temperature using infrared thermometers! Would have been scary if I had been detained (though they probably would have taken good care of me?).

The people at the Ah Shan hostel were really nice about refunding our pre-paid deposit this morning, and gave Nolan our bag without charging us a storage fee, when he pointed in the phrasebook that I was ill and couldn’t come to collect the bag. Definitely recommend them to anyone going to Hong Kong looking for a budget place. Nolan picked up my new glasses and they look great! Very light, and the colour won’t rub off since the material is solid colour throughout. (Though I need to go back to have them adjusted.)

Also, just as I was starting to get the hang of Mandarin, now I have to “switch” to Cantonese, though I’m finding it easier to speak after learning some Mandarin.  For the most part, you can get by pretty easily with English in Hong Kong though.

When Nolan gets back to Australia and posts up our China/HK photos, I’ll “paste” them onto this blog. When I look at the photos, I can hardly believe we were there. Not sure if I’ll be updating with photos otherwise – internet can be pretty slow in some parts of Asia.

3 thoughts on “Recovering in Hong Kong

  1. Glad to hear it was nothing serious and you’re feeling better. Seems like you’re having a great time can’t wait to read more!

  2. Hi Joyce,
    Wow. It sounds like you have been having adventure after another since you have left. I do hope to see all these pictures when you have a chance. Hopefully you will recover soon. I should have given you my Cipro for traveler’s diarrhea that I didn’t use in Mexico. Keep having a great time and I hope your body catches up with you soon!

Leave a Reply

