Walden, or, Life in the Woods

“I went into the woods because I wanted to live deliberately. I wanted to live deep and suck out all the marrow of life, to put to rout all that was not life; and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived.” Thoreau

How fitting that I found this at the Linkoping public library! Only a few pages in – and it is not easy to read, though enjoyable. Living in the countryside, living off the land, with visits into the nearby town? Sounds a lot like my life here (though we only grow a few things off the land here – but still, it’s more than what I did in Canada).

Have been thinking a bit about what I’ll do once my tourist visa runs out in mid-January. Should I go back to my old job? And when exactly? Immediately or when my year is up? Would be nice to make some money again, instead of spending it. It’s hard for me not to think about money, even though I still have lots of savings, and know myself that money alone isn’t fulfilling in the least. Money does ease a lot of stress and worry, but in quoting someone I met during my travels, “I’d rather have experiences.” Time, for me, is a luxury.

The idea of travelling somewhere has also crossed my mind – but not through many cities and places, and instead, spending a few months in one place. Maybe China. Maybe Quebec. Yes, strange choices, I know – not exactly two places you’d think of one after another. A few months ago I might have been more excited to hop over to China, but right now I’m leaning towards Montreal.

I also have a few ideas of what else I might like to do in my career. I know that my own self-doubt in my abilities holds me back. There are some things I’ve thought of that I would love to do, but feel that I lack the talent. Perhaps it isn’t true? I don’t know because I’ve never gone all out to try, and lack a lot of experience and practice that others have. To get there I do know I need more skills to get there however, and some more school would help me get there. Shifting fields scares me, as the new field would require me to be more creative, more enterprising, and take more risks. School has always been a bit of a security blanket for me – it makes me feel reassurred that I’m “getting” somewhere, knowing that I’m following a well defined path. But this isn’t always a good thing I think.

… to be continued …

2 thoughts on “Walden, or, Life in the Woods

  1. Thanks for the comment on my blog! I think you’re probably the only person that actually reads it 🙂

    Sweden sounds interesting. I wish I had the opportunity that you have to actually live and experience it. That’s the one thing I find lacking in my travels, the experience of living there and not just passing through.

    Are your sister and her bf economists or did they just work as assistants?

    I’m interested in hearing more about your career ideas, maybe when you’re back and we get a chance to meet up (snowboarding perhaps?). I’ve found that abilities and skills are only part of the equation. Luck and who you know make up a large part of the rest of the equation.

    It sounds like this year has been a great opportunity for you to stand back and analyse things from a distance, literally, so I wish you the best in finding your path!

  2. Thanks for dropping by the blog! I’ve actually been reading your posts but I haven’t just commented. Say, can I add you to my sidebar blog listing on Sweden? The thing that’s been keeping me from doing that is that when you do go back to Canada, then I guess you’re not going to blog about Sweden anymore… but it would be nice anyway to see what you’re up to, and I guess you’d be visiting again, right? I mean, you’re studying Swedish and everything.

    So, what did you think of Norrköping? Taking a walk around the river (Strömmen) is recommended, though probably not at this season. You could also go to Himmelstalundsfältet and see the largest collection of bronze-age rock carvings in Ostergötland. If you feel for sticking more to the city center, there’s a quaint shopping village called Knäppingsborg just one street down from Drottninggatan. They sell handicrafts, baked goods, local produce, etc. – and they have a Christmas theme going on there now so it looks like a Christmas market there. And just going down Södra promenaden is good too. You can start from Strömmen and end the Södra-promenaden walk in the city library or the Art museum.

    If you feel for a meet-up, I can gladly tour you around if I’m free! Just give me your mail as a comment in my blog if you’re up to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

