New guilty TV viewing pleasures

I am loving America’s Best Dance Crew 3! I do get into the TV watching game late, as I usually avoid wasting time watching TV – and have been watching episodes online. I’m in love with Quest crew, and even more so because I have to support my fellow Asians. But it’s a close call with Beat Freaks, a group of strong females (one of who was Gwen Stefani’s Harajuku girls – how fun is that?) who don’t skank it up just in the name of dance. Really wish I could dance!

Not only have I fallen for one guilty TV viewing pleasure, but two – while watching ABDC3 on muchmusic.com, they aired a commerical for RuPaul’s Drag Race – a reality show about a competition for the next Drag Queen. A cross between two of my favorite shows, Project Runway, and America’s Next Top Model, except twice as fun! How could you not love a show with challenges such as “Drag on a Dime” and lines such as, “The time has come… For you to lip-sync for your life!” So campy, but love it!

On top of that – I am extremely envious of how fabulous the drag queens are! Man… after watching that, I feel like I need to use the freedom I have to act, dress, and look extremely feminine, especially being able to get away with it much more easily in mainstream society than they do. It’s safe to say that I (probably – knock on wood) won’t be shot at while outside a (gay) bar dressed exaggeratedly as a woman. I often think gay people have a lot more fun than straight people do, because they’re free to completely be theirselves and not worry about what others think of them. (Of course, I hardly know the dificulties they also have to go through.) Still, I think I can take something away from this.

Leave a Reply

