now for something different…

Part of my goals this summer is to improve my design skills (sketching and graphic design). So I’ll be posting up some of my small assignments online to keep myself accountable. And if I’m inspired enough, I’ll do a poster/blog thingy like below, inspired by “blogazines”, only on a smaller scale.

Exercises from Arntson’s Graphic Design Basics.

Exercise 1

Exercise 2

explanation below

.

.

.

.

Exercise 1: using a Helvetica “h”, place and crop to make it read as a background.

Exercise 2: Using a letterform, repeat in a symmetrical pattern, as an exploration of ground/figure in graphic design.

Comments? Did you get it? How successful was it? The point was not to notice, at least not immediately, the letters “h” and “j”.

Leave a Reply

